Midterm: Reflections on Study Abroad

Chocolate Festival in Florence.
Study break at the chocolate festival.

There’s no doubt: this week was the most stressed I’ve been since I was getting ready to leave for Florence. Again, my travel backpack (an Osprey Farpoint 40 that I absolutely love) slowly made it’s way from under my bed to the corner of the room to sitting on my bed, waiting to be meticulously packed. The number of notecard lists multiplied by the day. I booked and printed train tickets. I made sure flights were in order and that the previously mentioned meticulously packed bag would fit under the weight restrictions for a carry-on (because why pay a couple extra dollars when you could stress for hours instead?)

The difference between getting ready to leave for Florence and getting ready to go to Barcelona and Paris? I wasn’t just getting ready to leave: I was also taking midterms. I actually care about my classes here and my grades–even if they do transfer as pass/ fail.

 

On top of getting ready to leave and taking midterms, I also had to write and edit for newest issue of “Blending”, Florence University of the Art’s school newsletter. See above for last month’s issue and an article I wrote on museum accessibility for the visual impaired in Florence. Luckily my Italian family was on vacation this week; as much as I love spending time with them, it was helpful to have the time to try to get everything else together.

Streets and Streams Logo
Streets and Streams Logo

So perfect timing to restructure my blog, make a logo, convert the content from Blogger to WordPress, and then transfer my domain name, right? Maybe not, but that didn’t stop me. Unfortunately, the transfer isn’t 100% complete yet, but I’m so excited to see how my blog can evolve on a platform that is easier for me and the people reading. Here’s hoping that the domain transfers soon!

 

 

 

I spent much of the first half of the semester getting to know Florence and traveling within Italy. Now it’s time for me to have that European study abroad experience that I’ve always imagined, jetting off to foreign cities. Get ready Barcelona, I’m coming.

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑